top of page

What We Wore - Belmond British Pullman


Our epic and memorable train journey on the Belmond British Pullman allowed both James and I to wear two outfits: one daywear and one evening attire.

My daywear look was comfortable, warm, and chic. I was prepared for hours of seated (and heated) train and coach travel, as well as the chilly time spent meandering through the quaint streets and impressive buildings of Cambridge and Ely. I was eager to wear my newest blouse, which features delightful ruffles on the front, neckline and cuffs, and is embroidered with floral motifs. Despite being long-sleeved it was light enough to keep me from overheating on the train. I paired it with my favourite wool skirt, which is the perfect combination of comfortable and warm, and served me well against the autumnal gusts.

As accessories I chose my black felt hat to keep my head warm and my hair safe from the wind. It also concealed the fact I had not done my hair up nicely, and added to the 1920s effect. Women were rarely seen out without a hat of some description. Furthermore, I think hats are underrated these days.

I also donned the beautiful hand-dyed silk scarf my sister gave me, which while rather small and thin added extra warmth to my neck and provided a necessary pop of colour to an otherwise muted outfit. Red lipstick

I opted with my trusty black 1920s-inspired Aerosole heels, which infallibly handle cobblestones with grace. I wore my warm, creamy yellow 80s-does-40s wool coat which has been hiding in the depths of my Los Angeles closet for years. Its tight weave and satin lining kept me safe from the nippy breezes and lingering chill of ancient buildings.

Knee-high stockings and my black vintage handbag tied this subtle and practical, yet elegant 1920s/30s inspired outfit together.

Day Attire: Blouse: Thrifted ($8)

Skirt: Vintage - Thrifted ($6)

Stockings (Knee-High): Primark (£3 for 3 sets)

Shoes: Aerosoles (~$30)

Hat: Thrifted (~$10)

Earrings: Old Spitalfields Market - Gifted

Scarf: Gifted

Bag: Vintage - Thrifted (£12)

Coat: Vintage - Gifted

Approximate Cost: $73/£51

Inspired by the glamorous people depicted on trains in film, James and I agreed to bring a change of clothes for dinner. I brought my just-below-knee-length beaded black dress, as it was an entire outfit in a small package. While I'm uncertain of how old it is, it has strong 1920s inspiration without appearing unoriginal and flapper-esque. Unfortunately we didn't get any good photos of it, but you can see a little bit of the beading detail in the first photo.

I brought along a vintage faux-pearl necklace to add a little something extra to the outfit. My neck scarf from earlier in the day transformed into a small shawl which did frankly very little to protect my bare shoulders from the chill threatening to seep in from around the now darkened widows.

The only other changes I made for the transition to formal wear were the removal of the knee-high stockings and the letting down of my long locks.

Evening Attire:

Dress: Thrifted (£1)

Shoes: Aerosoles (~$30)

Earrings: Old Spitalfield's Market - Gifted

Necklace: Vintage - Thrifted (£12)

Scarf/Shawl: Gifted

Coat: Vintage - Gifted

Approximate Cost: £34/$47

Knowing the weather was going to be brisk and windy I opted for this three piece Cavani suit. Tweed was thought to be the perfect suit fabric for any gentleman taking the train throughout the 20s and 30s, and so it is. Tweed is exceedingly warm and comfortable, essential on cold and leaky vintage trains. Yet more importantly, unlike flannel or linen suits, a tweed suit will not show creases and wrinkles from sitting on the train.

The suit was also perfect for wandering around the windy narrow streets of Cambridge.

This three piece suit is gorgeously patterned with a blue check and a double breasted waistcoat. When planning this outfit I had to keep in mind that I would be changing in to a dinner suit. I decided to wear black shoes and a white shirt that could also be worn for my evening outfit. The white shirt is one of the collarless, vintage-inspired ones from T.M. Lewin, worn with an original 1920's collar and vintage silk pattern tie. I wore a dark tie with brown tones to complement the tweed look.

For the return train journey and 4 course dinner I wore this three piece Charles Tyrwhitt black suit. It is the perfect formal evening suit. Though it is black and therefore sober, the lining of both the jacket and the back of the waistcoat are a bright duck egg blue. This is quite possibly my favourite of my suits. Although it is extremely formal, the blue lining makes it less somber.

I often enjoy wearing colourful shirts with dark suits to add colour but this does make the outfit look less formal, which I wanted to avoid on this occasion. The white shirt went beautifully with the charcoal black of my suit, and was complemented by the white pocket square. I am always very aware that although a black suit with a white shirt is very formal it can look extremely dull or bleak. One often runs the risk of looking as though he is going to a funeral. Though the blue lining did help counteract this, I also opted for a brightly coloured tie.

The saviour of any suit is a brightly coloured tie. This particular silk purple tie was made by the Victorian and Albert museum in London. The geometric white jungle patterns of big cats among foliage is extremely Art Deco and fit perfectly with the 1920's surroundings aboard the Pullman.

Outfit 1:

3 Piece Tweed Suit: Cavani

Collarless Shirt: T.M. Lewin

Collar: Vintage (Thrifted)

Shoes: (Thrifted)

Silk tie: Vintage (Handed down)

Outfit 2:

Black 3 Piece Suit: Charles Tyrwhitt

Tie: The Victoria & Albert Museum

Pocket Square: Vintage (Handed down)

Cufflinks: Vintage (Handed down)

RECENT POSTS
ARCHIVE
RELATED POSTS
bottom of page