top of page

Summer Style - Los Angeles and Beyond


Once we were both in Los Angeles, summer picked up its pace. We ventured on many outings, including trips to New Mexico and San Diego. As always, style was of the essence. Here are some highlights which we hope you enjoy!

One day after James arrived we were already out and about touring some of LA's finest museums, including La Brea Tar Pits and the Getty.

James: To match with Jeordy on a particularly hot day I chose the three main colours of her striped dress, pink, blue and white. Wearing white trousers I paired a pink waistcoat with a complementing blue shirt. The outfit was extremely light, with pastel colours and linen trousers and waistcoat.

Jeordy: I had purchased this amazing vintage dress the day before (for only $6!) and was extremely eager to wear it. It proved the perfect summer dress, as it protected much of my delicate ginger skin from the sun while remaining breathable and lightweight. Because of this I wore it again and again on while in the US! I am in love with the pastel stripes. I paired it with a vintage 1960s baby blue belt I rediscovered in my closet in LA, champagne pearls and cameo earrings, and strappy leather heels.

As we are both finally legal to drink in the U.S.A., we headed out to a cocktail bar in (matching) summery ensembles.

James: A simple and effortless outfit, I combined cool white trousers for the warm evening with a light yellow shirt and striped braces.

Jeordy: Another recent purchase was this darling vintage mid-century yellow and white dress. Unfortunately the yellow and white floral embroidery on the chest and hem are hard to see, but they add texture and interest to an otherwise simple piece. I paired it with a vintage straw sunhat and the same strappy LA heels, which you will see an awful lot of. (SLH count: 2)

Our drive to New Mexico was only supposed to be 14 hours of driving. Due to flash flooding and resulting inclement road conditions, we spent roughly 17.5 hours on the road and had to leave the car parked in the muddy private road to the house to avoid getting stuck. After that, relaxation ensued.

James: With the eagle cries and rattling of snakes in my ears, avoiding tumbleweeds, I thought back on some of my favourite western films, The 3:10 to Yuma, The Magnificent Seven and who could forget The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. In such a western setting I channelled my inner cowboy and came up with an outfit perfect for a beer on the veranda. I wore a brown wool hat, light yellow shirt, brown waistcoat and jeans. he outfit was topped off with a gold pocket watch and Native American patterned bandana. The combination was light, sturdy and cool.

Jeordy: I attempted to truly emulate the romanticised Wild West ranch life ideal which fits this little handmade house so well. The outfit is inspired by the 1880s-1930s ranch wife. I like to think it looks like a colorised Dorothea Lang photograph! I wore a vintage 1970s top with vintage white linen maxi skirt, vintage bandana, and a belt from my childhood with a buckle hand-beaded by my amazing sister.

We went sightseeing in both sunny Santa Fe and mysterious Taos.

James: Matching perfectly with the dusty adobe bricked town I chose a lightweight and easy two toned combination for frolicking around the town of Taos. Matching with my vintage shoes I wore a vintage 1950's white shirt and lightweight brown trousers. I finished the outfit off with my vintage wool hat and my Father's vintage RAF Aviator Sunglasses.

Jeordy: This outfit is tried and true, and matched perfectly with the adobe tones so prevalent in New Mexico. The top is vintage and has delicate floral embroidery, the skirt is also vintage and my favourite at the moment thanks to the gorgeous colour combination and flattering cut. I wore a sun hat, straw purse from Bali, handmade Andean brooch and, surprise, the same heels. (SLH Count: 3) My bumblebee ankle tattoo is also visible here!

In San Diego we partied Romulus and Remus style at Raised by Wolves.

James: Keeping it simple I chose a three piece brown suit with a plain white shirt to match the vintage two tone shoes. Making the outfit more casual for the Speakeasy bar on a warm evening, I refrained from wearing a tie.

Jeordy: I wore this simple and elegant grey maxi dress that my darling friend Kay (who we were also staying with) got for me a few years back. I paired it with... those same heels. (SLH Count: 4)

One day we ventured down to Mission San Juan Capistrano to soak up some old California History.

James: One of my more casual outfits from the trip, snapped on my way back from fetching iced coffee. I enjoy experimenting with smart suit trousers and more comfortable shirts. Here I matched my pink linen trousers with this extremely thin black patterned shirt. The pink in the shirt matched perfectly with the trousers.

Jeordy: Anticipating the colour-scheme of the mission (which I had visited once as a child), I opted for earthy greens and red. This gorgeous dress I stole from my mother who bought it while in India in her 20s (making it vintage 70s). The hat and purse are straw, and the shoes are the comfiest ever from Aerosoles.

We got our whisky fix at No Vacancy.

James: Three-piece pink linen suit. I have nothing more to say.

Jeordy: I felt like a goddamn princess seated upon her noble steed. This gorgeous dress I bought a year ago but until this night I had yet to find an occasion to wear it. The stunning peach bias cut fabric, puff sleeves, and contrasting embroidered blue trim won my heart. Peep the new tattoo on my upper arm!

Having our own La La Land moment at the Griffith Observatory.

James: For a trip to Griffith Park I donned a tried and tested classic of two-tone brown and white but added some colour to the mix with a very bright pink shirt.

Jeordy: I went with a more 1970s inspired look this day, with high-waisted brown plaid trousers and a vintage dirndl blouse. I accessorised with my vintage parasol, and the same brown heels. (SLH Count: 5)

We enjoyed an evening of live jazz and swing dancing at the illustrious and elusive Cicada Club.

James: For our trip to LA's 1925 Club full of Deco glamour it was an obvious choice. I wore my three-piece white suit. I chose a plain white shirt to keep the outfit formal and opted for a dark blue and white striped silk tie. I continued the blue accents by adding a dark blue pocket square. The gold pocket watch also tied in nicely to the goldish yellow tones of my buttons.

Jeordy: This pink and gold silk gown was actually my prom dress Senior year of high school, and I was very pleased to get to wear it again. I got it second hand for about $25 and had it altered, so it fits like a dream. I wore my hair up, and accessorised with champagne pearls and golden fan earrings.

One of our final adventures was our trip to Malibu for the Getty Villa and clam chowder.

James: Yet another casual experiment, I placed my white suit trousers with a red and white causal shirt. The white in the floral shirt tied in perfectly with the white of the trousers to create a cohesive yet casual ensemble.

Jeordy: While James went casual, I busted out one of my finest vintage pieces. I like to think of it as the crowning glory of this trip's fashion. This amazing 1940s vintage sailor playsuit has hung in my closet for years and I had never gotten up the nerve to wear it until this day. The navy blue and white button details on the waist, the cut, and the sturdy materials all make this little piece so special. I wore my vintage straw sunhat and carried my parasol for extra shade coverage. Overall I let the playsuit speak for itself, and made sure my legs looked especially good in none other than those same damn heels. (Final SLH Count: 6)

RECENT POSTS
ARCHIVE
RELATED POSTS
bottom of page