top of page

Steak, Mushroom & Red Wine Pie


'I love cooking with wine...sometimes I even put it into the food.' - W.C. Fields.

If you read the Chicken and Mushroom Pie post you know how much Jeordy and I love savoury pies. I was not satisfied having only made one, so to celebrate Jeordy's return to chilly England from a trip home to sunny Los Angeles, I made a warm and comforting Steak, Mushroom, and Red Wine Pie. Pies are perfect for the long cold winter nights which are upon us.

Ingredients:

-1kg/2 lbs of beef steak

-6 rashers of bacon

-1 onion

-1 leek

-1 carrot

-1 pack of mushrooms

-1 cheap bottle of red wine

-1 egg (for glazing)

-300g/10.5 ounces of puff pastry

I began preparing the ingredients for my pie by cutting everything into small bite size pieces.

I set my oven to 170 degrees Celsius (350 degrees Fahrenheit) and heated a dash of oil in a frying pan. I cooked the bacon and beef for around 10 minutes.

Once the meat was done I set it aside and cooked the vegetables in a large pot. I added fresh thyme, salt and pepper to taste. Make sure you use a cast-iron or other oven-safe pot. Once the vegetables had softened I added the meat to the mix, along with two table spoons of flour. After a few minutes I added tomato puree to help the thickness of the gravy, and then half a bottle of cheap red wine accompanied by two little pots of beef stock.

I added just enough boiling water so that the vegetables were covered and let it simmer on low heat for about 10 minutes. This is to enhance the flavours. I covered the pot and placed it in the oven for 2 and a half hours. It can go in for a shorter time but the longer it is left in, the more time all the juices have to soak into the meat.

After the 2.5 hours I took the pot out of the oven. At this point I raised the oven's temperature to 200 degrees Celsius (400 degrees Fahrenheit). I placed the red wine-infused mixture into a baking dish. We didn't have a large enough round dish to contain the filling so I used a rectangular pyrex one. Is it still a pie if it's not round? Absolutely. I rolled out the puff pastry and placed it on top of the mixture. I then brushed egg yolk over the top of the pie and placed it back into the oven for 30 minutes until golden on top.

Happy pie making!

RECENT POSTS
ARCHIVE
RELATED POSTS
bottom of page